It’s Green, stinks, but it’s (supposed to be) good for you!

5 Apr

Spirulina that is!

In a previous post, I talked about the juicing book I bought, The Big Book of Juices, by Natalie Savona.  Some of the recipes included Spirulina. Spiru what? Spirulina.  In my research, I found out that it’s a Superfood derived from the Ocean.  What was never mentioned (until I read an Amazon review) is that it is dark green and stinks.  In this review for Spirulina powder marketed by NOW foods, it’s described as everything except delicious, great-tasting, and platable.  However, in this review, many say Spirulina can be tolerated.  Apparently, where it’s harvested has a lot to do with the flavor which makes a lot of sense.  The Spirulina I bought is harvested from waters in Hawaii.  The earlier product from Now is harvested in India and it stinks (literally, lol!)

I describe myself as adventurous, so I immediately ordered a bottle of Spirulina Powder to add as a supplement to my fresh vegetable juices.  I just got it today, so I haven’t taken it for a test drive.  To be completely honest, I’m a bit scared.  I opened it up and it looks exactly as described: dark green powder resembling algae.  I quickly put the top back on and put it in the fridge.  Now all I have to do is make some vegetable juice, mix the Spirulina and Juice using this Blender Bottle I bought, as take it all down….I’ll be sure to check back in once I’ve become brave enough to drink the juice…

Image

What’s your go-to natural supplement?

3 Responses to “It’s Green, stinks, but it’s (supposed to be) good for you!”

  1. realjuicerreview April 6, 2013 at 10:00 am #

    I have had that product before. The key is to mix it very well with a juice you like to drink (at first).

    Once you get the hang of it, you can drink it straight (with a little water).

    • spoonforkeat April 6, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

      I tried it today and I really don’t see what the fuss on Amazon is about. I made a vegetable juice and put a tsp of Spirulina in it, mixed well and my juice tasted just like veggies. Maybe it’s strong when mixed with water, but I have a feeling I can tolerate it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegetable Juice and Spirulina: The verdict’s in. | spoon.fork.eat. - April 6, 2013

    […] be my new go to drink.  Yesterday, I blogged about Spirulina and how I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about Spirulina considering the […]

Leave a Reply

