Cooking with Quinoa (keen-wa)

14 Mar

Cooked Quinoa

So I’ve begun my quest of healthier eating.  Earlier this week I purchased a 2lb. bag of Quinoa (pronounced keen-wa) at BJ’s.  At the time, I only had one recipe in my mind: Stuffed Bell Peppers.

I first learned of Quinoa in a nutrition class for diabetics at VA hospital.  I can’t remember exactly what the dietician made, but I do remember being excited to use my new knowledge.  That same night, I made stuffed bell peppers using the usual ingredients but instead of using rice, I used Quinoa.  The family thought they were great.

While Quinoa is expensive (I paid about $2.50/lb), it is well worth it.  Because it has no flavor, it is versatile and can be used during any meal or snack.  It is also fat, cholesterol, and gluten free.  Who could pass it up.

Sounds too good to be true? The only downside I’ve found was that Quinoa is a bit grainy in some dishes and it could possibly take extra seasoning to give it some flavor.  Just depends on your taste buds…

Leave a Reply

