Chili With Quinoa

14 Mar

It’s what for dinner (tonight) lol!

While cruising around AllRecipes, I found a recipe for chili using quinoa (pronounced keen-wa).  I decided that I’d make it for dinner for three reasons: I love chili, it’s cheap, and it uses quinoa.

This particular recipes includes zucchini, cilantro, and jalapeno.  I didn’t have any of it so I opted to make chili the way I normally make it (albeit I did include the corn).   Ground turkey was substituted for ground beef because I believe it is healthier. I decided that I wouldn’t add the quinoa to the pot as I didn’t want it to soak up the liquid.  I have some sort of aversion to adding noodles, rice, quinoa, etc. to the pot for that very reason.  The last thing I did was include a couple tablespoons of horseradish sauce because I like strong flavors and had it on hand.

My end result was a delicious pot of chili that is kid approved!  Yummy!  How do you incorporate healthy alternatives into food and still make it kid approved?

One Response to “Chili With Quinoa”

  1. omega juicer j8004 September 23, 2014 at 6:38 pm #

    You ought to take part in a contest for one of the
    greatest blogs on the net. I am going to highly recommend this blog!

Leave a Reply

